FREE Convention Houston TEXAS Feb 19th & 20th ///////// FREE Atlantic City March 5th & 6th SEE www.uamccevents.com
Results 1 to 16 of 16

Thread: two machines

  1. #1
    Member Junior Undergraduate
    Join Date
    Dec 2010
    Location
    charlotte, nc
    Posts
    230

    two machines

    doing res house washing with a 4gpm and 5.6 gpm machine at the same time, with a source of water from the house around 4-5 gpm what size buffer tank would I need? just to be safe say the house only has one spicket.

    thanks
    dave

  2. #2
    Member 2000 PLUS POSTER Guy Blackmon's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2008
    Location
    North Carolina
    Posts
    2,391
    Blog Entries
    6
    150.... or 200 on the safe side

  3. #3
    Member Senior Undergraduate Kevin Moffett's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2010
    Location
    Milwaukee, WI
    Posts
    402
    You also can get around 75 gal tank (if you mostly do res) with a hudson float valve so when the water level gets below a certain point the hudson float valve will kick in and Automaticity fill the tank up that way you will have a constant water flow

    Kevin Moffett
    Moffetts Pressure Washing Service
    Info@MoffettsPressureWashing.com

  4. #4
    Member Associate Professor scottwash's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2008
    Location
    Palm Coast fl
    Posts
    839
    Blog Entries
    1
    If you go with a 75gall I would add a low water switch. If the water goes to low it will shut your pw off so you dont run dry

    Integrity Pressure Cleaning Plus
    386.986.0797 cell

    Pressure Washing Palm Coast Florida 32164
    www.ScottWash.com
    Roof Cleaning Window Cleaning

  5. #5
    Member Junior Undergraduate
    Join Date
    Dec 2010
    Location
    charlotte, nc
    Posts
    230
    Great info guys I really appreciate the feed back. I will definatly use those suggestions. Is their anything I need to be carefull of when hooking the two machines to the buffer tanks?? I willl get the float (thanks Kevin) and the low water switch (thanks scott) Im thinking just a T coming out of the tanks and hook the lines up, but I really dont know. any suggestions would be greatl appreciated

  6. #6
    Member Senior Undergraduate Kevin Moffett's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2010
    Location
    Milwaukee, WI
    Posts
    402
    I would just hook the 5.6 gpm washer up to a tank and use the 4gpm washer as a back up just my opinion

    Kevin Moffett
    Moffetts Pressure Washing Service
    Info@MoffettsPressureWashing.com

  7. #7
    Member Junior Undergraduate
    Join Date
    Dec 2010
    Location
    charlotte, nc
    Posts
    230
    Quote Originally Posted by Kevin Moffett View Post
    I would just hook the 5.6 gpm washer up to a tank and use the 4gpm washer as a back up just my opinion

    I was planning on two guys washing the house.

  8. #8
    Member Senior Undergraduate Kevin Moffett's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2010
    Location
    Milwaukee, WI
    Posts
    402
    Quote Originally Posted by dave mac View Post
    I was planning on two guys washing the house.

    Okay If you going to hook them both together go with what Guy said and get a bigger tank with the hudson float vavle and you should be okay

    Kevin Moffett
    Moffetts Pressure Washing Service
    Info@MoffettsPressureWashing.com

  9. #9
    Member Honorary Professor HighTide's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2009
    Location
    St. Augustine, Florida
    Posts
    1,039
    At least 200 gallons, IMHO. I have a 325 gallon with a Hudson float valve that stops it at 175 gallons. But every other month, I need to fill it up to the top as I get far away from a water source. A full 325 tank gives my 5.6 gpm unit a time of 58 minutes of on the trigger work, which comes in handy when far away from water!
    David Styles
    High Tide Exterior Cleaning Solutions, Inc.
    St. Augustine, FL 32095
    http://hightidecleaning.com/
    www.facebook.com/HighTideCleaning


  10. #10
    Member Professor with Tenure
    Join Date
    Feb 2007
    Location
    fuquay-varina, nc
    Posts
    1,511
    At least 225 gallon tank. Don't hook up a low water shut off. It will annoy the heck out of you if your machine cuts off every time you are low on water. You will know when the water is low. Use a decent pump and it won't mater if it runs a minute or two without water. I flow 2 8 gpm machines off of each tank. Make sure you plumb the machines seperately.

  11. #11
    Member Professor with Tenure
    Join Date
    May 2008
    Location
    Indianapolis IN
    Posts
    1,596
    Quote Originally Posted by offdutyfireman View Post
    At least 225 gallon tank. Don't hook up a low water shut off. It will annoy the heck out of you if your machine cuts off every time you are low on water. You will know when the water is low. Use a decent pump and it won't mater if it runs a minute or two without water. I flow 2 8 gpm machines off of each tank. Make sure you plumb the machines seperately.
    What he said. We run two 5 gal off a 100 and we are constantly dealing with low water if we are pulling off 1 residential hose bib. We try to run two supply hoses unless it's a small vinyl siding house. Just do the math. I think the average hose bib flows at best 6 gpm. Spring we will be swapping tanks.

  12. #12
    Member Graduate Student BlueBliss's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2002
    Location
    Tallahassee, Florida
    Posts
    571
    No T-fitting unless it's over two inches (still not worth it). As said, plumb separately. You might consider bypass valves. They'll really stretch your pump life and help fill the tank!
    I went from very low gpm to 8 gpm in my first year. Most of our work can be done with 4 or even less gpm now, but I'm addicted to the high gpm, especially after going the water filtration route (or if no reclaim needed)!
    Kyle Casey
    Blue Bliss
    Tallahassee, FL
    850-566-3129
    http://www.blueblisscando.com

  13. #13
    Member Senior Undergraduate asewell77's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2010
    Location
    alva fl
    Posts
    301
    what i figure is u get better pressure hooking up directly to the house if u r running 6 gpm machines or less. especially if you have a small tank. if you have a large 200 gallon tank the weight of the water will create more pressure to the pump. the fuller the tank the more pressure u get comming out the bottom. if you are using 100 gallon or less you might no be getting enough water flowing fast enough to the pump. if you have a pressure gauge hook your pump up to the spiget then to the tank and see if there is a difference in pressure...did that make sense?
    Sparkle-N-Shine Pressure Cleaning
    Anthony Sewell
    ph.# 239-384-3466
    fx.#239-728-2456
    SNSPC@yahoo.com
    Sparkle-N-Shine Pressure Cleaning - Home

  14. #14
    Member Associate Professor chrishartje's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2008
    Location
    Fresno, CA
    Posts
    892
    Quote Originally Posted by asewell77 View Post
    what i figure is u get better pressure hooking up directly to the house if u r running 6 gpm machines or less. especially if you have a small tank. if you have a large 200 gallon tank the weight of the water will create more pressure to the pump. the fuller the tank the more pressure u get comming out the bottom. if you are using 100 gallon or less you might no be getting enough water flowing fast enough to the pump. if you have a pressure gauge hook your pump up to the spiget then to the tank and see if there is a difference in pressure...did that make sense?

    I would always pull from a tank. If your running a 6gpm I wouldnt take the chance of starving your machine from a resi supply. Also a belt driven machine will pull just fine no madder how much water is in the tank.






    Chris Hartje
    Golden State Pressure Washing
    &
    Property Services
    Fresno, Ca
    559-681-7630
    www.gspressurewashing.com

  15. #15
    Member Senior Undergraduate asewell77's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2010
    Location
    alva fl
    Posts
    301
    Quote Originally Posted by chrishartje View Post
    I would always pull from a tank. If your running a 6gpm I wouldnt take the chance of starving your machine from a resi supply. Also a belt driven machine will pull just fine no madder how much water is in the tank.

    True on the 6 gpm machine. I should have left it at 5 or less.
    True also on the belt drive. You c,an run a belt drive off of a five gallon bucket!
    But on direct drive 5 gpm or less I've noticed a pressure loss when running off of a smaller tank.
    Sparkle-N-Shine Pressure Cleaning
    Anthony Sewell
    ph.# 239-384-3466
    fx.#239-728-2456
    SNSPC@yahoo.com
    Sparkle-N-Shine Pressure Cleaning - Home

  16. #16
    Professors 3000 PLUS POSTER Paul Kassander's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2006
    Location
    Milwaukee, WI
    Posts
    3,285
    Blog Entries
    3
    If your having pressure loss your feed line may be too small try feeding with a 1" line.

Thread Information

Users Browsing this Thread

There are currently 1 users browsing this thread. (0 members and 1 guests)

Bookmarks

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •